Alberta NDP Leadership Race Heats Up: Candidates Gear Up for Calgary Debate

The Alberta New Democratic Party leadership race is heating up as contenders prepare for the second of three debates scheduled in Calgary. Scheduled for May 11 at the BMO Centre, the event will feature prominent figures such as MLAs Kathleen Ganley, Sarah Hoffman, and Jodi Calahoo Stonehouse, along with Gil McGowan from the Alberta Federation of Labour and former Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi. Moderated by Rishi Nagar and Cheryl Oates, the debate will involve answering questions from both the media and the public, allowing candidates to engage in paired debates and present their platforms ahead of the voting period starting on June 3.

Following the debate, eligible voters will be announced by the party, with voting set to begin on June 3 and run through to June 22. The leadership contest fees deadline of $20,000 is on May 12, marking a crucial phase in the race to determine the next leader of the Alberta NDP. The event will also be live-streamed on the party's social media channels for wider accessibility, showcasing the democratic process within the party as it moves towards selecting its new leader.